The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing regulates the private security industry in accordance with Chapter 493, Florida Statutes. Security officers and security agencies serve in positions of trust. Untrained and unlicensed persons or businesses, or persons not of good moral character are a threat to public safety and welfare. The private security industry is regulated to ensure the interests of the public are adequately served and protected.
The information and FAQs below have been made available to inform prospective security officers and Florida residents about licensing requirements.
Below is a list of the commonly asked questions regarding a "D" security office license as required by the Department of Agriculture, Division of Licensing. They are also shown on the DOL's website.
How Do I apply For a Security License?
Before applying for a Class "D" Unarmed Security Officer license, applicantsmust successfully complete a total of 40 hours of training with a licensed security officer school and training facility.
Exceptions to this may be granted by the Division of Licensing for prior Law Enforcement experience and/or completion of a Florida (or equivalent) Police Academy.
When the application is received, the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and the Federal Bureau of Investigation perform a criminal history record check to determine if the applicant has a criminal history which would disqualify him or her from licensure.
What Are the Different Types of Licenses?
"D"- Unarmed Security Officer
"G" - Armed Security Officer
"M" or "MB"- Manager of a Security Agency
"DI"- Security Officer School or Training Facility Instructor
"DS"- Security Officer School or Training Facility
Licenses issued to individuals (including agency managers) and to schools/training facilities under the authority of Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, are valid for 2 years.
"B"- Security Agency
"BB"- Security Agency Branch Office
"AB"- Combined Security and Private Investigative Agency Branch Office
Agency and agency branch office licenses issued under the authority of Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, are valid for a period of 3 years.
Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses issued under the authority of Section 790.06, Florida Statutes, are valid for a period of 5 years.
Where Can I Check the Status of My Application?
Depending on the location from which your application is mailed, it usually takes 7-10 days to reach the Division of Licensing. Normally, it requires about 10 business days after your application is received by the Division for your information to be entered into our database. Please take this into consideration before you check online or call (F.S. 493 applicants only). If you are an individual or an agency seeking to provide private investigative services, security services, or recovery services, you can perform an online search to check the status of your application.
How Do I Renew My License?
Individual and Agency Licensees are regulated under F.S. 493. A license issued to an individual or agency regulated by Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, can be renewed if it has not been expired for more than three months. A late fee equal to the amount of the license fee is required in addition to the renewal license fee. If the license has been expired for longer than three months, the former licensee must reapply for a new license.